Debt Consolidation

Custom Search

Debt Consolidation
Debt Relief
The Five Most
Bankruptcy Chapters Explained
Bankruptcy - The
New Bankruptcy Law
Bankruptcy - In
The New Bankruptcy
Life After Bankruptcy:
Bankruptcy 101
Bankruptcy – Bankruptcy
Bankruptcy - Is
The Last Debt
Bankruptcy and Your
The Flip Side
Credit Card Debt:
New Bankruptcy Laws
How Bankruptcy Affects
What is Bankruptcy?
Bankruptcy and Debt
Bankruptcy Help -
Bankruptcy as a
New Bankruptcy Law
New Bankruptcy Law
Bankruptcy - Bankruptcy
Bankruptcy and The
Do It Yourself
Bankruptcy Information -
Bankruptcy - More
Filing Bankruptcy -
Bankruptcy Credit Counseling
Bankruptcy Guide
Bankruptcy - is
GM Bankruptcy?
The New Bankruptcy
What to Consider
Bankruptcy: What's the
Debt Consolidation
Debt Relief
Types of Bankruptcy
by Eddie Tobey
In the US, a party can file for either Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcy. In Chapter 7 or ‘straight’ bankruptcy, the applicant surrenders all non-exempt property and assets to an appointed bankruptcy official. These are converted into cash and th

In the US, a party can file for either Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcy. In Chapter 7 or ‘straight’ bankruptcy, the applicant surrenders all non-exempt property and assets to an appointed bankruptcy official. These are converted into cash and the proceeds are disbursed to the applicant’s creditors.

This process of liquidation then results in the applicant being freed of all financial obligations within a short period usually not exceeding four months. Obviously, this provision has seen a lot of abuse in the past. The new laws now state that an individual cannot re-apply for Chapter 7 bankruptcy unless he/she has been given discharge from a previous filing for it for at least eight years.

In applying for Chapter 13 bankruptcy, the applicant indicates that he/she intends to repay his/her debts over a period of time. This period may vary from three to five years. Chapter 13 bankruptcy is the preferred kind for applicants who cannot prove complete and irreversible financial insolvency, meaning that they have a source of income that allows them to eventually settle their debts.

Chapter 13 bankruptcy also protects non-exempt property from liquidation and allows the applicant to retain ownership of it. The new bankruptcy law amendments, effective from October 17, are oriented towards encouraging the maximum possible repayment of debts and make it mandatory for certain applicants to file for Chapter 13 bankruptcy.

Chapter 11 or corporate bankruptcy is typically applicable to business entities that wish to restructure and reorganize. Chapter 12 or family farming bankruptcy was a variation formulated in 1986 is applicable to people or qualify as ‘family farmers’. Functionally, it is similar to Chapter 13 bankruptcy, except that its offers a higher debt ceiling than Chapter 13 does for wage earners to people or families who depend on farming for their livelihood.

Bankruptcy provides detailed information about bankruptcy, bankruptcy attorneys, bankruptcy faqs, and more. Bankruptcy is affiliated with New Bankruptcy Laws.

The site is not responsible for any content in it. E-mail: alldir[at]gmx[dot]com
debt consolidation, home loan, mortgage, debt free, debt help, refinance, equity loan, unsecured, secured debt, bankruptcy, credit card , bad credit, payday, cash advance, cash settlement, line of credit, student loan, interest rate, borrow money, car loan, adverse credit, compensation, quote, credit score, consolidate debt Monmouth Beach borough Hamilton township Balance of Perry County East Peoria Riverwood Leesport borough Glenwood Phoenix Balance of Liberty township Alsen Dunbar borough Newport village Grand River township Wilton township Peoria City township Rocky town Garden City town Royston city (pt.) Rohnert Park Luana Ravenwood town White township Big Wells Palatine village (pt.) Driscoll township Turkey town Spring Coulee township Appleton city (pt.) Fountain Lake town Oakwood USA UK Australia Canada British Sovereign Base Areas Navassa Island South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands Australian Antarctic Territory Madagascar Panama Northern Mariana Islands Wallis and Futuna Saint Barthelemy British Sovereign Base Areas Denbighshire West Sussex Wiltshire Lanarkshire Renfrewshire Selkirkshire Huntingdonshire Nairnshire Middlesex Cornwall Florida (FL) Tennessee (TN) Missouri (MO) New Hampshire (NH) North Dakota (ND) Delaware (DE) North Carolina (NC) North Carolina (NC) Rhode Island (RI) District of Columbia (DC) Pennsylvania (PA) Puerto Rico (PR) Arkansas (AR) Arizona (AZ) Tennessee (TN) Mississippi (MS) Illinois (IL) Iowa (IA) Federated States of Micronesia (FM)